Skip to content

An autumn Sunday and NSO

October 18, 2009

Today I’ve been thinking about something I’ve been discussing over the last weeks with my fellow heathens on Twitter (These people need following if you’re a fellow Twitterer)

  • @rationalbehavio
  • @lawrencemills
  • @atheistcrow
  • @theEmperfect
  • @fyreflye
  • @neuropunk
  • @briandgregory
  • @vizhnet
  • @qaphsiel
  • @cynraven
  • @opiated
  • @atheistinWA
  • @cafewitteveen
  • @cestmoitom (YO the welsh boy is heathen enough !)

With some of the above..but not all we were discussing how religion manages to get into every day language, you know the exclamations such as “oh my God”, “Jesus” etc…and this seems to be in most languages, like the worst swearword in Dutch – “Godverdomme” literally God be damned (wooooo heavy !). Now our religiously-afflicted friends get very upset at the calling of their imaginary friends names in vain, and here in The Netherlands there’s poster campiagns in bus and train stations exhorting people not to swear; and usually anything that upsets them is fair game for me to use (mwaahaahaahaaaa = evil laugh ) but in this case me and my fellow heathens are trying not to use these religious terms in our language and have come up with some alternatives. See what you think..and add to the list by commenting.

  • Oh My Dawkins !
  • Zithering Zeus
  • Frey’s HUGE tool
  • By Thor’s Hairy Testicles (my personal favourite!)
  • Aphrodite’s Arsehole
  • Ganesh’s Gonads
  • By Mighty Myers

And so on 🙂 I like to refer to this as the “New Swearing Offensive”. Now why do this ? Well in my opinion religion is accorded far too much attention/respect/mention in everyday life in language, schooling, TV, radio, press and those horrible god botherers singing on street corners and knocking on your door when you’re in the middle of a dump so now it’s time to to bit by bit take this out of our lives….and have some fun at the same time and exercising a bit of creativity !!!

Now add more to the list 🙂

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Cary permalink
    October 18, 2009 14:47

    First, thanks for the kind mention! Second, great list of alternative exclamations. I think I like ‘Ganesh’s Gonads’ the best out of that list. Though your favorite has great appeal as well (always loved the Norse mythos).

    -Q

  2. October 18, 2009 15:12

    I’d have to agree with Cary, that is may favorite as well. Although how come “Oh My Mr. Deity” or “Jesse!” didn’t make the list?

  3. October 18, 2009 15:14

    Consider them added Brian !!!

  4. Cary permalink
    October 18, 2009 15:41

    Oh, good call regarding Mr. Deity.

  5. Luke Crowe permalink
    October 18, 2009 16:05

    Excellent list there.. loving it! How about: “Loki’s Loquacious Lusts” and never forgetting “Baldur’s Badgering Balls”

  6. October 18, 2009 18:06

    They are very good… but I think it’s time we lost fear of insulting Islamic religion also and put in an insult to them. One could “swear by allah’s balls”… or something.

  7. October 18, 2009 19:27

    I should publish a list like this; I’m really slacking on my follow fridays and I’ve really never contributed to atheist sunday…I should do this.

  8. October 18, 2009 19:29

    Stephen Fry used the phrase “Fluffy Christ on a stick” the other night, and I’m afraid it’s stuck with me. It’s going to be “Fluffy Christ” this and “Fluffy “Christ” that…it’s my new fashionable expletive which I intend to use forever.

  9. Vizhnet permalink
    October 18, 2009 21:31

    Thanks for the mention.: like i said on twitter, my contribution would be : “oooh, schrödinger’s pussy”

  10. October 19, 2009 07:37

    Cunty Consuming Cronus!

    Minotaur Meat Sticks!

  11. cafewitteveen permalink
    October 21, 2009 22:11

    I’ve been using “Freakish Flying Spaghetti …”

    Like “Freakish Flying Spaghetti, you’ve stomped on my meatballs!”

  12. CestMoiTom permalink
    October 31, 2009 14:40

    I’ve noticed I’m not on the heathen list… trying to say something? Am I not heathen enough for you? Haha Only joking 🙂

  13. October 31, 2009 14:48

    Tom I updated the post especially for you Mea culpa, mea maxima culpa !!! OUCH

  14. CestMoiTom permalink
    October 31, 2009 14:55

    Yey! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

